Databases



Gale Virtual Reference Library
Explore our database of encyclopedias and specialized reference materials that once were accessible only in the library.

Browse our collection of online books --- Click here

Or search here for quick reference

x

KYVL

Kentucky Virtual Library
The Kentucky Virtual Library has databases for all education levels, with access to books, articles, Kentucky statistics, and the Kentuckiana Digital Library.

 

World Vital Records

A massive library with billions of family history and genealogy records, and millions of family trees. Access key collections: U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; military records; enhanced Social Security Death Index (SSDI) records; millions of newspaper articles; unique, exclusive local and world collections.

Career Transitions

Career Transitions
Get help searching for jobs, write a resume and cover letter, and assess your career interests.

 

Testing Education Reference Center

Testing & Education Reference Center
Take practice tests for high school, college prep, and graduate school tests.

 

Britannica Library

Britannica Online Library Edition
Get access to Britannica online, with useful search features and various collections.

--Click here to access within the library 

--Click here to access at home

 

Britannica Online School Education

Britannica Online School Edition
Get access to Britannica Online for elementary, middle and high school level homework.

--Click here to access within the library

--Click here to access at home

 

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports
Find all the latest statistics on products from the leading provider of consumer information with this handy, online database.

--Click here to access within the library

--Click here to access at home

 

Mango Languages

Mango Languages
Use this online language-learning system to explore a wide variety of languages. The program helps develop conversational skills in a language of your choice.

 

Price it Antiques and Collectibles

Price It!  Antiques and Collectibles
Always wanted to know what some of your antiques are worth? This database allows you to search for items and view how much they are being sold for.

 

Chilton's

Chilton's Database
This database will search for the make, model, and year of your vehicle to give you information on maintenance, repairs, and recalls.

 

Access World News

Access World News
World's largest collection of full-text newspapers and other news sources including the Lexington Herald-Leader 4/25/83-current) and the Washington Post(1/1/77-current).

To enter from the library:  Click here

To enter from home:  Click here

Herald Leader

Lexington Herald-Leader Archives
Covering Lexington and Kentucky news, this full-text collection of the Herald-Leader dates back to 4/25/83.

To enter from the library:  Click here

To enter from home:  Click here

 

Proquest

ProQuest
This database provides great news coverage, plus databases on entertainment, business, history, literature, science, medicine, etc.

 

KDLA

Kentucky Department of Libraries
KDLA offers services for archives, research, and the talking book library.  Also, various digital collections are available.

 

Heritage quest

Heritage Quest
Resource for census data, family records, and local histories. The collection also includes banking and military records, genealogies, and primary source materials.

»Click here to enter from library

»Click here to enter from home   

 

America's Historical Newspapers

America’s Historical Newspapers
(1690-1922) allows you to explore America’s past from over three centuries. Includes articles, illustrations, birth and marriage announcements and obituaries exactly as they appeared in print.

»Click here to enter from the library

»Click here to enter from home   

 

Newsbank

Newsbank
The largest and fastest growing newspaper resource in existence, featuring over 2500 state, national, & international news sources.

»Click here to enter from the library 

»Click here to enter from home

 

Learn A Test

Learn-A-Test
Learning Express Library provides a set of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests.

 

Available only in the Library

Lawreader

LawReader
This database provides legal research and materials, including the Kentucky Revised Statutes, legal suggestions and forms.  Available only in the library

 

Ancestry

Ancestry.com
Get help starting your family tree, search various collections and browse the U.S. Census.

Available only in the library